Annual National Career Award Competition

The National Society of Arts and Letters annual national competitions rotate between drama, musical theater, dance and instrumental music. In place of a previous literature competition, a literature scholarship will be awarded each year to one student to attend a two-week workshop at the Iowa Young Writers Studio sponsored by the University of Iowa. In place of a previous art competition, an annual art scholarship will be awarded by CAL Arts, California Institute of Arts, Valencia, CA, in the name of NSAL.

2018 National Woodwinds Competition in Bassoon, Clarinet, Flute and Oboe

The National Society of Arts and Letters invites musicians to participate in the 2018 National Competition in Woodwinds – Bassoon, Clarinet, Flute and Oboe. The first place winner will receive $12,000. Cash prizes also are given to second, third and fourth place winners. The National Competition will take place during the NSAL Annual Meeting – May 21-27 in Chautauqua, NY.

Contestants must first compete at the chapter level. Interested musicians should submit completed applications to the chapter that is geographically near his or her home or school. To find a chapter, click on Chapter Contact below. Each chapter pays the travel, hotel and conference registration expenses for its chapter finalist to compete in the National Competition.

Deadline for Clearwater/Tampa Bay Chapter applications is March 1, 2018. The competition is scheduled for March 24, 2018 at Chapel by the Sea, Clearwater Beach. For more information, contact Chris Cosdon at, or Denna Shiben at

National Competition Rules
Chapter Application
Chapter Contact

Clearwater/Tampa Bay Chapter winners of National Career Award Competitions

1967 – Literature
National Third Place Winner
Peter Vasili
1974 – Drama
National Fourth Place Winner
Michael Leighton
1976 – Art
National Honorable Mention
Diana Chase
1983 – Literature
National Third Place Winner
Carol Ann Mahler
2004 – Musical Theater
National Third Place Winner
Becca McCoy
2005 – Acting for Comedy
National Fifth Place Winner
Arbender Robinson
2009 – Drama
National First Place Winner
Jack Holloway
2010 – Short Story
National Sixth Place Winner
Jenna Dietzer
2011 – Choreography
National Seventh Place Winner
Catherine Jean Tiso