About Us

Denna Shiben and Gail Van
Zanten are co-presidents for
the 2017-2018 session.
The Clearwater/Tampa Bay Chapter, which serves Orlando and the West Coast of Florida, was established in 1965 by Alice White Reeves & Dorothy Miller Strong. Members include men and women from a wide range of professional fields, including the arts.

Members meet several times a year for luncheon programs to report on committee activities and discuss upcoming special events. Each program includes a presentation or performance related to the arts. This chapter, and others around the country, conducts annual rotating competitions in musical theater, drama, instrumental music and dance. The chapter also conducts the annual Naomi Rabb Winston Scholarship in Two-Dimensional Art and the Shirley Rabb Winston Scholarship in Classical Voice.

Other chapter events include a Holiday Party in December and an Awards Luncheon in April that honors chapter winners of the annual rotating competition and the finalists of the Winston Art and Voice Scholarships. It also celebrates members of the community for their outstanding work on behalf of the arts.

Our chapter welcomes new members at any time. We encourage anyone who is interested in promoting young artists in the creative and performing arts to submit an application.

Membership chair:

Jan Harroun
E-Mail: jharroun@mac.com

Chapter Meetings 2017 – 2018

Sept. 13, 2017, 10 a.m. Board meeting.
Belleair Country Club
March 14, 2018, 11:30 a.m. Luncheon Meeting.
Belleair Country Club.
Oct 11, 2017, 11:30 a.m. Luncheon meeting.
Belleair Country Club
Saturday, March, 24, 2018 10 a.m. Woodwinds Competition.
Chapel by the Sea, Clearwater Beach
Nov. 8, 2017, 10 a.m. Board meeting. 11:30 a.m. Luncheon meeting.
Belleair Country Club
April 4, 2018, 10 a.m. Board meeting.
Belleair Country Club.
Saturday, Dec. 9, 2017, 6 p.m., Holiday Gala,
Belleair Country Club
Saturday, April 28, 2018, 11:30 a.m. Competition Awards and Community Award Luncheon.
Belleair Country Club
Jan. 3, 2018, 10 a.m. Board meeting.
Belleair Country Club
May 2, 2018, 10 a.m. Board meeting.
Belleair Country Club
Feb. 14, 2018, 10 a.m. Board meeting. 11:30 a.m. Luncheon meeting.
Belleair Country Club
May 21-26, 2018, Annual National Meeting, Chautauqua, NY
March 7, 2018, 10 a.m. Board meeting.
Belleair Country Club
June 6, 2018, 10 a.m. Board meeting. 11:30 a.m. Luncheon Meeting.
Belleair Country Club



NSAL appreciates and welcomes your support.

If you would like to donate to our programs, you may chose to give to our general award fund or designate a specific program.

For further information, please contact our Clearwater/Tampa Bay Chapter President

Denna Shiben
Gail Van Zanten

To give to NSAL, please send a check as a tax-deductable donation to:

NSAL Clearwater/Tampa Bay

c/o Clearwater/Tampa Bay Chapter Treasurer Anne Lauder
139 Marina Del Rey
Clearwater, FL 33767

A receipt will be forwarded to you for your records.



Board of Directors 2017 – 2018

Executive Board

Co-Presidents Denna Shiben & Gail Van Zanten
First Vice President Chris Cosdon
Second Vice President Jenny Austin
Recording Secretary Mary Bockus
Treasurer Anne Lauder


Corresponding Secretary Robin Schenck
Assistant Treasurer Sue Bowles
Historian Joan Trefts

Standing Committee Chairs 2017 – 2018

Advisor Gail Van Zanten
Bylaws Gail Van Zanten
Communications Robin Schenck
Community Award Denna Shiben
General Meetings
Membership Jan Harroun
Newsletter Anne Lauder
Chris Cosdon
Parliamentarian Barbara Branscum
Website Anne Lauder
Chris Cosdon
Winston Scholarship – Art Chris Cosdon
Winston Scholarship – Voice Mary Bockus
Chris Cosdon

Board Members Emeritus

Terry McHarg

Clearwater/Tampa Bay Advisors

George Ann Bissett
Executive Director, Dunedin Fine Art Center

Sue Castleman
Visual Arts Supervisor for Pinellas County Schools

Dr. Duncan McMillan
Grammy Nominated Composer
Lecturer in music and ancient Greek studies, Eckerd College

Rosalia Maresca
General Manager, Florida Lyric Opera
Operatic voice teacher, Ruth Eckerd Hall
Professor, Manhattan School of Music

Peter Meinke
Professor emeritus, Eckerd College
Poet Laureate, State of Florida
Author of poetry, fiction, non-fiction, children’s books

Kay Petryszak
International President, Miniature Art Society
Award winning miniature artist

Jeanne Reynolds
Performing Arts Supervisor for Pinellas County Schools

Sandra Robinson
Eminent professor of dance and choreographer
Recipient of the Gwen Verdon Award for Excellence in Arts and Education
Retired Associate Director of the University of South Florida School of Theater and Dance

Erika Schneider
Distinguished international printmaker
Visiting professor in the graphics design program at the University of
South Florida, St. Petersburg

Maestro Mark Sforzini
Executive director and artistic director of the St. Petersburg Opera Company
As a composer, has been commissioned by the Florida Orchestra, Naples Philharmonic,
Palladium Theater, Hillsborough Arts Council and others
Adjunct professor at St. Petersburg College, where he teaches bassoon

Linda Weir
Actor, Director and Producer
Productions include Eight O’Clock Theater at Largo Cultural Center,
Francis Wilson Playhouse and West Coast Players